Band of the Day


Darkness Falls

Dramatic pop allure contrasted with gritty drums and distorted guitars
Out of words, out of air. Temptation calls from a siren's song. Were you ever here? Did I do you wrong?
lyrics from The Void

Darkness Falls are a danish rock duo formed in 2009, consisting of Josephine Philip, vocals and keyboard, and Ina Lindgreen on bass & guitar.

Darkness Falls create a dramatic atmospheric sound combining distorted twang guitars, haunting synths, gritty drums and striking vocals. Pop allure turns into noise only to revert back into harmony. Enticing lyrics collide with a drone like base, romance crashes into reality and hope and regret are equal on the scale.

The tempo shifts, from sorrow to action, the girls are at the wheel and there is no rest for the wicked. The sound of Darkness Falls is not easily pinned down, traditional rock influences merge with contemporary arrangements, creating a dynamic and varied soundscape. You can revisit Darkness Falls many times and return with different impressions each time. Darkness Falls and you turn to your imagination.

Their debut release “Darkness Falls”, a four-track EP, dropped in spring 2011 followed by a full length album in autumn 2011.

Josephine Philip received international critical acclaim for her pop joint, JaConfetti, together with Ane Trolle. She has written and preformed with several acts, the latest being a track on the new Trentemøller album.

Ina Lindgreen has played with numerous bands for the past decade, among them the all girl ska band Favelachic, where she met Philip. Anders Trentemøller, who is producing Darkness Falls is an established composer, producer and remixer.